ALT Codes for Currency Symbols & Signs

Published on April 6, 2018 · Updated on June 8, 2023

ALT codes for currency symbols & signs. Below is the complete list of Windows ALT codes for currency symbols & signs and other symbols related to money and finance, their corresponding HTML entity numeric character references and, when available, their corresponding HTML entity named character references. If you are new to ALT codes and need detailed instructions on how to use them, please read How to Use ALT Codes to Enter Special Characters.

Currency symbols are graphical representations used to denote different types of currency in written and printed documents. They are symbols that represent specific monetary units used in various countries and regions around the world. Currency symbols are typically placed before or after a numerical value to indicate the currency being referenced.

Here are some commonly used currency symbols:

  1. Dollar Sign ($): The dollar sign is the symbol used to represent the United States dollar and several other currencies, including the Canadian dollar (CAD), Australian dollar (AUD), and many others. It consists of a vertical line ($) with one or two horizontal lines through it.
  2. Euro Sign (€): The euro sign is the symbol used to represent the euro, the official currency of the European Union and several other European countries. It is a stylized letter “E” with two horizontal lines through it.
  3. Pound Sign (£): The pound sign, also known as the pound sterling symbol, is used to represent the British pound (GBP). It resembles the letter “L” with a crossbar through it.
  4. Yen Sign (¥): The yen sign is the symbol used to represent the Japanese yen (JPY). It consists of a horizontal line with two vertical lines extending downward from the ends.
  5. Rupee Sign (₹): The rupee sign is the symbol used to represent the Indian rupee (INR) and several other currencies in South Asia. It is a combination of the Latin letter “R” and the Devanagari script symbol “र” (ra).
  6. Yuan/Renminbi Sign (¥ or 元): The yuan or renminbi sign is used to represent the Chinese yuan (CNY) and the official currency of China. It can be represented either by the symbol “¥” (similar to the yen) or by the Chinese character “元” (pronounced “yuan”).
  7. Other Currency Symbols: There are numerous other currency symbols used around the world, including the Canadian dollar (CAD, represented by “$” or “C$”), the Australian dollar (AUD, represented by “$” or “A$”), the Swiss franc (CHF, represented by “Fr” or “₣”), the South African rand (ZAR, represented by “R”), and many more.

It’s important to note that currency symbols may vary in appearance depending on the font or text encoding used, and they are often standardized by international organizations such as the Unicode Consortium to ensure consistent representation across different platforms and devices.

See more symbol sets for popular ALT codes at ALT Codes for Miscellaneous Symbols.

For the the complete list of the first 256 Windows ALT Codes, visit Windows ALT Codes for Special Characters & Symbols.

Scroll to Top